You are here: Home / News

Dawgs 2016 Team Award Winners Announced

Monday September 19, 2016

September 19, 2016

OKOTOKS, AB... Okotoks Dawgs Baseball Club of the Western Major Baseball League has announced its 2016 Players of the Year. Presentations will be made at the Dawgs Annual Banquet and Fundraiser scheduled for Saturday, January 28, 2017 at the Okotoks Centennial Center.

Despite an opening round loss in the playoffs, the Dawgs enjoyed another outstanding year. With a record of 34-13, the club finished 1st overall in the Western Major Baseball League claiming the President’s Cup. In addition, 5 Dawgs (Kellen Marruffo, Utah; Brendan Rose, UBC; Anthony Baldaras, Lewis Clark State; Michael Gretler, Oregon State; CJ Lewington, Arkansas Pine Bluff), were named to the 1st WMBL All Star Team and 1 (Taylor Davis, Lower Columbia College) was selected to the WMBL 2nd Team.

2016 Dawgs Players of the Year were:
Most Valuable Player:      Kellen Marruffo (University of Utah)
Rookie of the Year:          Michael Gretler (Oregon State University)
True Grit Player:               Brendan Rose (UBC)
Pitcher(s) of the Year:      CJ Lewington (Arkansas Pine Bluff)
                                           Anthony Baldaras (Lewis Clark State)

Kellen Marruffo, MVP: In his 2nd year with the Dawgs, Marruffo was one of the most dominant hitters in the WMBL. He led the team in hitting at .378, home runs with 6, and runs with 36. He was named a WMBL 1st Team All Star.

Michael Gretler, Rookie of the Year: The versatile Oregon State Beaver gave the Dawgs outstanding defence whether at 3B, C or SS and proved himself one of the league’s top hitters. For the season he batted .336 with a team leading 36 RBIs. He was named a WMBL 1st Team All Star.

Brendan Rose, True Grit Award: The UBC outfielder had another outstanding season with the Dawgs. He batted .359 and led the club in hits with 61, several of them clutch, and with 24 walks posted a .454 on base %. He was named a WMBL 1st Team All Star.

CJ Lewington, Outstanding Pitcher (tie): The RHP from Arkansas Pine Bluff was the
Dawgs #1 starter all season posting a 6-0 record with a .283 ERA with 35 strikeouts. For his outstanding season he was also named a WMBL 1st Team All Star.

Anthony Baldaras, Outstanding Pitcher (tie): The RHP from perennial & 2016 NAIA National Champions, Lewis Clark State, was the most dominant reliever in the league. He posted a microscopic 0.85 ERA with 27 strikeouts against just 4 walks in 20 innings. He was named a WMBL 1st Team All Star.

Tickets to the Dawgs Annual Banquet may be purchased by calling the Dawgs Ticket Office at 403.262.3294 or 403.995.1280. Also, a reminder to current Dawgs season ticket holders that they have until November 1st to renew their current seats before the seats are released to the public. Non season ticket holders can purchase tickets not currently on hold. Call the Dawgs Ticket Office at 403.262.3294 or 403.995.1280 or check out the Dawgs website at for further details.

About Okotoks Dawgs Baseball:
The Dawgs are a nonprofit organization that began in 1995 as an elite youth development program in Calgary, AB. The Dawgs operate 6 high performance youth teams from ages 13 to 18 that have won multiple provincial, national and Perfect Game Championships and a highly successful summer collegiate club that has won 4 WMBL Championships and is currently ranked 1st in Canada and 4th in North America in attendance averaging over 3300 fans per game. The Dawgs home is the Seaman Stadium Complex, a $22M, state of the art facility featuring 2 stadiums, 4 diamonds, outdoor and indoor training centers. Several Dawgs players have played for Team Canada, NCAA and NAIA universities and colleges, and been drafted by Major League Baseball organizations.

For more information, contact:
Angie Cox, Coordinator of Special Events,

Phone: 403.262.3294; 403.995.1280

American Baseball Coaches Association
Baseball Alberta
Baseball Canada
Baseballs Hidden Talent
BallPark Biz
Ball Park Digest
Cactus League
Cape Cod League
Collegiate Baseball
Canadian Baseball Network
Dawgs Baseball Camps
Grapefruit League
JDawgs Academy
Major League Baseball
Minor League Baseball
NJCAA Baseball
NAIA Baseball
NCAA Baseball
New England Collegiate Baseball League
Northwoods Collegiate League
Summer Collegiate Baseball Conference
Western Major Baseball League
West Coast League
Western Wheel

© 2014 Dawgs Baseball. All rights reserved. Home | Team | Tickets | Schedule | Statistics | News | Sponsors | Community | Contact

Site by: artinger designs