You are here: Home / News

Oregon State University wins Pac-12 title

Saturday May 13, 2017

Photo cred: Amanda Fewer 

 Okotoks, Alta. - Head coach of the Okotoks Dawgs and Director of Player Development at Oregon State University, Tyler Graham, along with Dawgs infield and OSU undergraduate assistant coach, Andy Peterson, won the Pac-12 title with a 5-4 victory over the Oregon Ducks Friday, May 12.

The crown is the OSU Beavers’ fifth since the 1999 season, the most by any team over that stretch. Oregon State won in 2005, 2006, 2013 and 2014 prior to Friday night’s 2017 championship.

“This year’s team has talent no doubt, but talent only takes individuals and teams so far,” Graham said.

“This team is so special because it has unshakeable team chemistry. They all love each other, root for each other and work extremely hard. I think back to my playing days and there were a lot of great memories but nothing has compared to being around this group of guys. This is everyone's family away from home.”

Oregon State’s win gives them 40 tallies on the season, making the Beavers the second team in the nation to reach the milestone. Second ranked Louisville has 42 while Texas Tech has 39.

Darius Foster, an outfielder for the Dawgs in the upcoming 2017 campaign, has committed to play for OSU during the 2018 season.

Graham, a product of Great Falls, Montana, was drafted by the San Francisco Giants in the 19th round of the 2006 June Amateur Baseball Draft from OSU and is in his first year working as the Director of Player Development at his alma mater. Graham served as an undergraduate assistant coach for the previous two seasons. Peterson, a native of La Palma, Calif. and a Seattle Mariners draft pick in 2014 who also played at OSU, is in his second year as an undergraduate assistant coach.

Graham is entering his second campaign as the collegiate Dawgs head coach. A season ago, Okotoks captured the President’s Cup with a 33-14 regular season record under his guidance.

The Dawgs open their season June 2 against the Medicine Hat Mavericks at Seaman Stadium. First pitch flies at 7:05pm.

Get your tickets here:

American Baseball Coaches Association
Baseball Alberta
Baseball Canada
Baseballs Hidden Talent
BallPark Biz
Ball Park Digest
Cactus League
Cape Cod League
Collegiate Baseball
Canadian Baseball Network
Dawgs Baseball Camps
Grapefruit League
JDawgs Academy
Major League Baseball
Minor League Baseball
NJCAA Baseball
NAIA Baseball
NCAA Baseball
New England Collegiate Baseball League
Northwoods Collegiate League
Western Major Baseball League
West Coast League
Western Wheel

© 2014 Dawgs Baseball. All rights reserved. Home | Team | Tickets | Schedule | Statistics | News | Sponsors | Community | Contact

Site by: artinger designs