Home/news/Dawgs Announce 2023 Player Awards
Hero Image
Thursday, October 19 2023 / Published in News

The Okotoks Dawgs are thrilled to announce their individual player awards from the 2023 WCBL Championship season.

With a loaded roster and outstanding performers during our record setting 2023 championship season, these award winners truly had great individual seasons and were major contributors all season long.

Without further adieu, congratulations to the following Dawgs on their 2023 player awards:

TRUE GRIT AWARD WINNER- Caleb Lumbard (Catcher; Okanagan College)

Lumbard was outstanding behind the plate, handling the Dawgs' pitching staff flawlessly. In 216 innings caught, Lumbard had a .997 fielding percentage while batting .252 with 1 HR and 15 RBI. Lumbard's leadership on & off the field was crucial in leading the Dawgs to their 7th WCBL championship.

RELIEVER OF THE YEAR- Seth Thompson (RHP; Chandler-Gilbert Community College)

Having a backend, shut down arm out of the bullpen is one of the most crucial roster pieces for any championship team and Seth Thompson was exactly that- a shutdown arm. With a fastball that lives 90-93 mph coupled with a wipeout sweeper, Thompson appeared in 25 games with 24 innings pitched while striking out 29 with a 1.87 era, tallying 2 saves. Thompson closed out the championship game with a 1-2-3 inning to secure the Dawgs 7th WCBL championship.

TOP CANADIAN PLAYER- Connor Crowson (INF; Bossier Parish Community College)

A homegrown product of the Dawgs Academy, Crowson was versatile defensively seeing action at 3B, 2B & 1B while hitting in the middle of the Dawgs lineup to the tune of a .351 avg with 46 hits including 3 HR and 22 RBI. Crowson's defensive versatility played a crucial role in keeping the rest of the Dawgs' infield fresh all season long.

ROOKIE OF THE YEAR- Trent Lenihan (INF/OF; University of British Columbia)

Lenihan provided a big time bat with defensive versatility, splitting time between 1B, LF & RF. A staple in the middle of the order, Lenihan hit .352 with 57 hits including 5 HR and 25 RBI, wreaking havoc on the league's opposing pitching staffs.

PITCHER OF THE YEAR- Graham Brunner (LHP; Emporia State University)

Brunner has become a Dawgs legend over the years. A product of the Dawgs Academy, Brunner first pitched in the WCBL in 2017 as a junior in high school and has been giving hitters trouble ever since. In 9 games started, Brunner went 3-2 while pitching 36.2 innings with 42 strikeouts and a 3.43 era. Brunner has been the anchor of the Dawgs' starting rotation since 2019 and has been a driving force in the Dawgs' last 3 WCBL championships dating back to 2019.

MOST VALUABLE PLAYER- Brendan Luther (SS; Bellevue University)

Dubbed "Mr.August" by Dawgs pitching coach Joe Sergent, Luther was the spark plug for the Dawgs all season long. The Dawgs' leadoff hitter played slick defense and set the table all in 2023, hitting .338 with 52 hits including 1 HR and 28 RBI. Luther's energy and leadership played a pivotal role in the Dawgs going back to back in 2022 and 2023.

Congratulations DAWGS on your awards! Let's run it back in 2024 and get that 3-PEAT!

lumbard true grit

thompson reoy

crowson top canadian

lenihan roy

graham brunner poy

brendan luther mvp

What you can read next
Page Image
2024 WCBL All-Star Game Ends in Firework Spectacular
Page Image
Dawgs Defeat Moose Jaw In Commanding Victory
Page Image
The Dawgs get a break, winning against the Express
Recent News
Seaman Stadium
Okotoks Dawgs Baseball Club
PO Box 298
Okotoks, AB T1S 1A5